Stories

Conversation

Understand

Join Us

Chronic Pain

First, understand it.

Read more

We walk a mile in your shoes. WE CONNECT WITH YOU we listen, offer hope, support and accept YOU.

Supporting my father

• shantelle
  • shantelle's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
More
2 years 8 months ago #23326 by shantelle
shantelle created the topic: Supporting my father
Hi,

My name is Shantelle and it is my father I am here about. It is only today that my father allowed me in enough to see how badly things have become for him , it break my heart to see my father as a broken man. I am the eldest of my father's children, I am a mother of 3, a full-time athlete (aspiring olympian) and I work as a support worker.

My father is 56, is currently on a range of pain medications, antidepressants and uses a walking stick. He can only walk a couple hundred meters before he starts to struggle. The list goes on. He has been in multiple vehicle accidents and has broken the L1 and L2 vertebrae, they operated and used screws and then removed them a year later. He has managed ok for a few years but has rapidly deteriorated in the last 12 months or so. He is now also having problems with his sciatica.

Besides pain medication and going to the gym dad does not do any other therapies or methods to manage or improve quality of life.

My question here is - could any one recommend a place to start to learn more about options besides his GP, or suggest surgeons in Melbourne that I can take him to see to discuss spinal Infusion. IF anyone has had this procedure done your story would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you,
Shantelle

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
2 years 8 months ago #23331 by illeatyu
illeatyu replied the topic: Supporting my father
Hi Shantelle,