Stories

Conversation

Understand

Join Us

Chronic Pain

First, understand it.

Read more

We walk a mile in your shoes. WE CONNECT WITH YOU we listen, offer hope, support and accept YOU.

GP's and Phone Approval's / Pain Meds

• Pained NSW
  • Pained NSW's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
More
4 years 1 week ago #20206 by Pained NSW
Pained NSW created the topic: GP's and Phone Approval's / Pain Meds
Hello,
I have had chronic lower lumbar pain for over 4 years now. I have been using the same GP that i have had for many years when treating my pain. It has been a slow and painful crawl to finally start getting the right pain management. We have been through the Celebrix / Tramadol, Lyrica and anything else the doctor could give me before using opiad's.

I was on the maximum amount for Tramadol at 200mg x 2 a day, and 3 x oxynorm 10mg a day for BF pain. I kept finding that after 18 months the Tramadol wasn't working and i would need to use more oxynorm and run out and go back within the normal month time frame that GP's prefer.
So having small children and needing to be able to function as my GP wasn't listening, i went to another GP and was given oxycontin 30mg x 2 a day. What a difference that made to pain and i stopped taking the Tramadol.

But of course there is always the dealing of BT pain and i would still go back to my other GP for my script of oxynorm. He finally understood that the Tramadol dosen't work and put me onto Targin 20mg x 2 a day. So with the combination of both GP's i no longer run out of pain med's and can thankfully function normally.